Sports Clubs

There are a number of local sports and physical activity clubs that you can get involved with in the Vale of Glamorgan.

 

If you are looking for a sports club to join our handy guide can help you find the right one for you. Before you or your family members join a sports club, it is important to consider:

  • Do the coaches have appropriate qualifications?
  • Is the club affiliated to the correct National Governing Body of Sport?
  • Does the club have a Child Protection policy in place? 
  • Are coaches/volunteers required to undertake a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check?
  • Are references undertaken for Coaches?
  • Does the Club have appropriate insurance?
  • Is there a qualified First Aider at the Club?
  • Is the activity being delivered appropriate to the specific needs of your child?

Please Note: The Sports Development Team has not vetted any of the organisations and it is your responsibility to ensure that the activity delivered is appropriate.

 

Setting up/Developing a Club

If you are setting up a club or want to further develop your existing club, the Sports and Play Development Team can assist you.

 

We can assist with areas such as Club Development plans, school-club links, promotion, funding and coach education.

 

Sport Wales have produced a useful website called Club Solutions which provides club volunteers with lots of information and templates to help with all areas of running a club. Whether you are looking to set up a new club or grow your existing club, there is something for everyone on this site. It is easy to use and navigate, with jargon free language. There is material to download, best practice stories to view, as well as quality guidance to help you. There is also a club assessment tool - a bit like a health check - to help you identify your strengths, weaknesses and areas of improvement.

Funding

Funding opportunities to assist with developing sports activities within the Vale of Glamorgan

There are a number of funding opportunities including the Community Chest Grant and Development Grant. You can also get further advice from the Sport Wales website.

 

Funding

Add Your Club

If you would like to register your club on our Clubs Database then please contact Karen Davies, Sports and Play Development Manager:

 

2017 Vale of Glamorgan Sports Club Directory

 

   

  

Sports Club Search

Clubs which are registered with the Sports and Play Development Team can be found by searching for the sport.

 

Please Note: An asterix (*) indicates clubs which are disability specific or inclusive.

 

A

 

Archery

Llantwit Major Archers

Teresa Goodwin

07581 400939

chairman@lmarchers.org

 

 

Caerau Dragon Bowmen *

Gina Burton

07717 876076

secretary@caeraudragonbowman.wales

 

 

Athletics

Barry & Vale Harriers

Fred Malkin

07889 363041

fred.malkin@trans-group.com

 

  

Back to top

 

 

B

Badminton

Barry Junior Badminton

Simon Pill

07858 951522

barryjuniorbc@gmail.com

 

Penarth & Dinas District Badminton Club 

Ley Woolley

07515 761552

leywoolley@hotmail.com

 

 

Basketball

Barry Huskies

Elliott Thomas

07971533097

elliott.ccfc1927@gmail.com

  

 

Bowls

Barry Athletic Bowls

Tim Morgan

Tim.morgan@live.co.uk

Richard Bowen

01446 710135

richard.bowen04@btinternet.com

 

 

Barry Romilly Bowls Club

Paul James

07773 293366

pj1westwinds@googlemail.com

 

 

Cowbridge Bowling Club

Colin Wilson

01656 860498

colinwilson16@talktalk.net

 

 

Llantwit Major Bowls Club

Michael Andrews

01446 793987

mjadams2010@gmail.com

 

 

Murch Bowling Club

John Manfield

07768393988

emjay1995@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

Penarth Belle Vue Bowling Club

David Purser

07828 882475

penarthbellevuebowlingclub@gmail.com

david.purser52@gmail.com

 

  

Rhoose Bowling Club *

Jo Hopkins

01446 710366

jhop106639@aol.com

 

 

Sully Indoor Bowls Club

02920 530999

indoorbowls@sullysportsclub.com

 

 

Back to top

 

 

 

C

 

Cricket

Barry Athletic Cricket Club (Juniors)

Mark Ellis

07826 020707

markellis@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk

 

  

Dinas Powys Cricket Club

Simon Hiscocks

07904 867208

statto1927@gmail.com

 

 

Llantwit Major Cricket Club

Neal Pritchard

07801 063536

neal.pritchard@btopenworld.com

 

 

Penarth Cricket Club (Adults)

Rob Crimp

029 2070 2452

penarthcricketclub@hotmail.co.uk

 

 

Penarth Cricket Club (Juniors)

Mark Frost

07886 225836

markfrost1962@gmail.com

 

 

Vale Cricket Club

Gareth Andrews

07540  079978

gareth.andrews@gmail.co.uk

 

  

Cycling

Vale Accessible Cycling

Cliff Hayes 

01446 420533

chayes89@btinternet.com

 

 

Wenvoe Wheelers

Rob Harrison

07976 635860

wenvoewheelers@gmail.com

 

 

Back to top

 

 

D

 

Dance

  

Motion Control Dance *

07725038778

info@motioncontroldance.com

 

 

Back to top

 

E

 

 

Back to top

 

 

F

 

Fencing

Bridgend Fencing Club

Alistair Brook

07747 772036

bridgendsabreclub@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

Football

Barry Athletic FC

Ady Gratton

07722 124759 

a.grat@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

Cadoxton Imps AFC

Gary Spierling

07717 357982

caddyimps@msn.com

 

 

Island Marine FC

Sian Blackmore

07776 137108

islandmarine93@gmail.com

 

 

Llantwit Major Junior FC

Simon Clancy

07884 261804

simonclancy3@btinternet.com

 

 

Penarth Town AFC

Claire Hicks

07967 973221

clairehicks2013@gmail.com

 

  

Peterston Junior FC

Jayne Colmsee / Kirsten Kearse

pjfcsec@gmail.com

 

  

Sully Sports FC Boys & Girls (Juniors)

Tony Scrivens

07786 247720

sullysportsfc@gmail.com

 

 

Barry Town Utd Ladies FC

Luke Williams

07832 273688

btuladies@gmail.com
Twitter: @btuladies
www.btuladies.co.uk

 

 

Barry Town Pan Disability Football *

Neil Latham

07827334818

nwlatham65@gmail.com

 

  

Back to top

 

 

G

 

Golf 

 

Cottrell Park Golf Resort

Gaynor Openshaw-Smith

gaynor@cottrellpark.com

01446 781781

 

 

St Athan Golf Club

Anita McKinstry

01446 751043

stathangc@obtmail.com

 

 

Special Olympics Cardiff & Vale Golf Club *

Jeff Savory

07803 165581

specialolympicswales@gmail.com

 

 

Gymnastics

Barry YMCA Gymnastics Club

Sophie Erickson

01446 724000

sophie@ymcabarry.org.uk

 

 

Rhythmic@TheAcademy

Claire Croft

07500 863422

claire@theacademywales.co.uk

 

Silver Stars Gymnastics Club

Jenny Hignett

07721 992255

jcsilverstars@gmail.com

 

 

Back to top

 

 

H

 

Horse Riding

Riders 2000 Riding Club

Claire Williams

07955 750084

team2.williams@btinternet.com

 

St Brides Major Riding & Trekking Centre

Julie David-Davies

01656 880000

info@valeriding.co.uk

 

 

Back to top

 

 

 

J

 

Back to top

 

 

K

 

Karate

Barry Kyokushin Karate

Phillip Sedgmond

01446 408974

barrykarate@hotmail.co.uk

Rhian Evans

01446 736682

barrykarate@hotmail.co.uk

 

 

Vale Karate

Rob Copeland

07986 872953

robert@valekarate.com

 

 

Welsh Kyokushinkai Karate

Lee Costa

07974 972479

karatejutsu@hotmail.co.uk

 

 

Welsh Karate Union / Llantwit Major & St Athan Shotokan Karate

Simon Dodd

07917 441138

simondodd89@gmail.com

 

Welsh Contact Karate Association

Derek Hughes

07973 506338

derek@wcka.co.uk

 

   

Kayaking

Special Olympic Kayaking *

Jeff Savory

07803 165581

jeff@specialolympicswales.co.uk

 

Back to top

 

 

N

 

Netball

Barry Netball Club

Julia Hewitson

07980 529470

jrhewitson@hotmail.co.uk

 

 

Westend Netball

Kelly Richardson

07944 174023

jessiej18@icloud.com

 

  

Back to top

 

 

P

 

Back to top

 

 

R

 

Roller Skating

Glamorgan Artistic Roller Skating Club

Donna Daly

01446 746128

glamorgan.artistic@gmail.com

 

 

Rowing

Barry Rowing Club

Paul Fisher

07802467466

rowingsection@barryyachtclub.co.uk

 

 

 

Rugby

Barry RFC

Christian Briard

07503 942826

barryrfcmandj@outlook.com

 

 

Cowbridge RFC

Rob Price

07971 960240

rob.gprice@btinternet.com

 

Delme Bennett

07887 924901

delmebennett@gmail.com

 

 

Old Penarthians RFC Mini and Juniors Section

Rob Crimp

029 2070 2452

oldpensrfc@live.co.uk

r-crimp@sky.com

 

 

Running

Barry Island parkrun

Lyn Evans

07754 151594

barryislandoffice@parkrun.com

 

Major Milers Running Club

Martin Hignell

07832 140984

hignell@talktalk.net

 

 

Rhoose Runners

Simon Webb

07780 001147

simon@w2-uk.com

 

 

Back to top

 

 

 

S

 

Sailing

Barry Yacht Club

Maxine Cattle

01446 735511

secretary@barryyachtclub.co.uk

 

  

Sully Sailing Club

Christopher Parr

07771 903523

cparr2018@gmail.com

 

 

 

Shooting

LS Haven Air Target Club *

Jonathan Gould

07852 216884

sec2.lshavenatc@gmail.com

 

Richie Phillips

01446 748688

chair.lshaven@gmail.com

 

 

  

Squash

Barry Squash Club

Tony Johnson

07546 889618

Barrysquash@outlook.com

 

 

 

Surfing

Channel Coast Surf Club

Curtis Hancock

07969 288224

channelcoastsurfclub@hotmail.com

channelcoastsurfclub@gmail.com

 

 

Surf Live Saving

Rhoose Lifeguards

Julie Bulmer

07989 050462

juliem1966@icloud.com

 

 

 

Swimming

Barry Amateur Swimming Club

Heulwen Cooper

01446 733784

heulwen@ntlworld.com

 

 

Barry Beavers Swimming Club *

Patricia Finch

01446 747683

patriciafinch@sky.com

 

 

 

Back to top

 

 

T

 

Table Tennis

Vale of Glamorgan Table Tennis Academy

George Evans

01446 711297

tanglewoodfive@aol.com

 

 

 

Taekwondo

Barry Taekwondo Club

Brian Jones

01656 862237

masterjonesbhwta@aol.com

 

 

Cowbridge Taekwondo

Brian Jones

01656 862237

masterjonesbhwta@aol.com

 

 

Llantwit Major / Wales Taekwondo

Master Paul Jones

07966 171840

pauljonestaekwonmudo@hotmail.com

 

 

Penarth Taekwondo

Vicky Phillips

07843 018750

toria56.vp@gmail.com

 

 

Tennis

Barry Athletic Tennis Club

Allen Oliver

allen.oliver@sky.com

01446 740287

 

Barry Community Tennis Club

Penny Mickelson

07816311263

penny@valetennisacademy.co.uk

 

 

Llantwit Major Tennis Club

Peter Rees

07891 828019

llantwittennis@gmail.com

 

 

Tennis Squad

Robert Wedlake

07903 524456

robert.wedlake@tennissquad.net

 

 

Vale Tennis Academy Limited

Rob Cunningham

07909 987359

robthecoach@valetennisacademy.co.uk

 

Touch Rugby

Phoenix Touch Rugby

Sophie Wilkinson

07929 360937

team@phoenixtouchrugby.co.uk

 

 

Trampolining

VDSF 

Emerald Skeete

07722 000921

volumedancesportfitness@mail.com

 

Back to top

 

 

W

 

Watersports

Barry Youth Watersports

Nigel Vick

07812 930001

barryywsports@gmail.com

 

  

Windsurfing

Barry Windsurfing Association

Jon Greatrex

07742 571000

jonnobbygreatrex@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

Yoga

Nija Yoga

Claire Baldwin

07984 677114

nijayoga@gmail.com

 

 

If you would like further information regarding Sports Clubs in the Vale of Glamorgan or would like to register your club onto our Sports Club Database then please get in touch.