Local Government Election

Local Government represents you and your local area.


The next Local Government Election is on:

Thursday the 4th of May 2017


Potential candidates

Please visit our candidate and agent information page!



This type of election is usually held every five years.



Local Government Elections are held to elect/choose people from your local community to become Councillors.

As a collective they form The Vale of Glamorgan Council.



Once elected, the representatives are known as Councillors.

To find out who your local Councillor is please visit our Members Search page by clicking the button below:


Members Search



Councils are responsible for providing local services and facilities.

Depending on where you live, your council is responsible for some or all of the following areas:

  • Council housing
  • Education services
  • Electoral registration
  • Environmental health
  • Leisure and recreation facilities
  • Libraries
  • Local planning
  • Local transport
  • Parks and public places
  • Regulation of local business
  • Roads and footpaths
  • Social services
  • Waste and recycling 


Councillors spend most of their time working and/or living, in their local area.

They attend regular council committee meetings, at various venues within the Vale of Glamorgan, to discuss and decide upon local services and facilities.


Notice of Poll

County Council


Town/Community Councils


Statements of Persons Nominated

County Council Wards


Town/Community Councils


Uncontested Notices


Notice of Election Agent's Names and Offices


Notices of Election


Vale of Glamorgan County Council


Town/Community Councils:


Previous Results:

Local Government Election - Overall Result and County Statistics - 2012


Previous results
 County Results  Community Results  Uncontested areas
  • Aberthin
  • Colwinston
  • Cowbridge
  • Ewenny
  • Flemingston
  • Gileston
  • Lavernock
  • Leckwith
  • Llanblethian East
  • Llanblethian West
  • Llancarfan
  • Llandough
  • Llandow
  • Llanfair
  • Llanmaes
  • Llanmihangel
  • Llansannor
  • Llantrithyd
  • Llysworney
  • Marcross
  • Michaelston
  • Monknash
  • Ogmore-by-Sea
  • Pendoylan
  • Penllyn
  • St. Athan
  • St. Brides Major
  • St. Brides-Super-Ely
  • St. Donats
  • St. Georges-Super-Ely
  • St. Hilary
  • St. Mary Hill
  • St. Nicholas
  • Sully
  • Welsh St. Donats
  • Wenvoe
  • Ystradowen


 How to Contact Us



Share on facebook Like us on Facebook