National Assembly for Wales

The National Assembly for Wales is the democratically elected body that represents the interests of Wales and it's people, makes laws for Wales, and holds the Welsh Government to account.



 The next National Assembly for Wales Election will be Thursday 6th May 2021.





This type of election is held every five years the next election is in 2021.

On the 5th of May 2016, the Welsh People voted on who they would like to represent them as their Assembly Members, when the National Assembly for Wales held their last election. 



The National Assembly for Wales is made up of 60 Assembly Members. 40 Assembly Members represent the constituencies of Wales (your local area) and 20 Assembly Member represent the five regions:  North Wales, Mid and West Wales, South Wales West, South Wales East and South Wales Central. 



Assembly Members (AMs) represent public interest as well as individuals living within the constituency or region in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the public through meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Assembly Members are paid a salary for their work.


To find out who your AMs are visit our Vale AMs, MPs and MEPs webpage by clicking the button below:


Vale AMs, MPs and MEPs




Following a referendum on the National Assembly for Wales' legislative powers held on the 3rd of March 2011, the people of Wales voted in favour of granting the National Assembly for Wales further powers for making laws in Wales.


The National Assembly for Wales has the power to make laws on the following areas:

  • Agriculture, fisheries, forestry and rural development
  • Ancient monuments and historic buildings
  • Culture
  • Economic development
  • Education and training
  • Environment
  • Fire and rescue services and promotion of fire safety
  • Food
  • Health and health services
  • Highways and transport
  • Housing
  • Local government
  • National Assembly for Wales
  • Public administration
  • Social welfare
  • Sport and recreation
  • Tourism
  • Town and country planning
  • Water and flood defence
  • Welsh language

The UK Government retains control of certain public services and areas of legislation.  For example, responsibilities for the police service, social security and employment legislation are not devolved.

The Assembly has no powers to levy taxes.



The Senedd was opened in 2006, and is where Assembly Members gather for Plenary (discussion/debate) in Cardiff Bay.

The Assembly estate also includes the Pierhead, an historical building in Cardiff Bay.  As well as these two buildings, the Assembly also has a visitor information centre in Colwyn Bay and an outreach bus that regularly visits the different regions of Wales.




 How to Contact Us