Matter which the Chairman has decided is urgent by reason of the need to ensure compliance with the six month rule contained within the Policy for the appointment of Local Authority Governors


Agenda Item No. 27(ii)




Minutes of a meeting held on 15th November, 2011.


Present:  Councillor A.D. Hampton (Chairman); J. Clifford, N.P. Hodges, F.T. Johnson, Mrs. K.A. Kemp and Mrs. M. Gibbs (Vale Governor's Association.


Also present:  Councillors Ms. M.E. Alexander, Mrs. J.E. Charles, N. Moore and Mrs. M. Wright.



(a)       Apologies for Absence -


These were received from Councillors Ms. V.L. Ellis and M.R. Wilson.



(b)       Declarations of Interest -


Councillors A.D. Hampton, J. Clifford, N.P. Hodges, Mrs. J.E. Charles together with Mrs. M. Gibbs withdrew from those parts of the meeting where they themselves were Governors or had applied to become a Governor.


In Councillor A.D. Hampton's absence, Councillor J. Clifford took the Chair.



(c)        Guidance Regarding Appointments Process -




(1)       T H A T the Guidance Notes regarding the Appointments Process be noted.


(2)       T H A T it be noted that Members were precluded from taking part in the consideration of vacancies at schools where they themselves were a Governor or they knew the applicant.  Substitutes were permitted in those cases.



(d)       Exclusion of Press and Public -


RESOLVED - T H A T under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part 4 of Schedule 12A (as amended) of the Act, the relevant paragraphs of the Schedule being referred to in brackets after the minute heading.



(e)       Application for the Appointment of Current Local Authority Governors' Vacancies (Exempt Information - Paragraph 12) -


It was agreed that application forms, received after the closing date be received.


The Panel, having considered the criteria for the appointment of Local Authority Governors and the applications received,




(1)       T H A T R. Evans be removed from St. Richard Gwyn Governors.


(2)       T H A T the following appointments be made:




Barry Comprehensive

Councillor E.T. Williams and Councillor A.D. Hampton

Bute Cottage Nursery

H. Vallis

Cadoxton Nursery

Mrs. P.A. Jones

Cadoxton Primary

Councillor F.T. Johnson and S.H. Tarbet

Cogan Nursery

Mrs. N. Ward

Colcot Primary

P. Baker

Cowbridge Comprehensive

H. Drew

Evenlode Primary

Councillor Mrs. M. Kelly Owen

Gwenfo C/W Primary

S.E. Williams

High Street Primary

Councillor Ms. M.E. Alexander

Holton Primary

M. Petherick

Jenner Park Primary

Councillor Ms. B.E. Brooks and M. Petherick

Llandough Primary

Dr. J. Hicks

Llanfair Primary

Ms.S. Stephenson and C.S. Trigg

Llanilltud Fawr Primary

Mrs. L. James

Llantwit Major Comprehensive

Mr. J. Clarke

Oak Field Primary

Councillor R.F. Curtis and M. Bin-Sufyan

Romilly Primary

Councillor Mrs. J.E. Charles

St. Athan Primary

Councillor J.W. Thomas

St. Brides C/W Primary

A. James

St. Cyres Comprehensive

Councillor Mrs. D.M. Turner

St. Helen's Infant

Councillor Ms. B.E. Brooks

St. Illtyd Primary

E.E. Bennett


St. Richard Gwyn High

N. O'Halloran or J.L. Baker or S.H. Tarbet


Councillor A.M. Ernest and Councillor C. Williams MBE

Sully Primary

Ms. J.L. Griffiths and H.E. McCulloch and Mrs. J.L. O’Rourke

Y Bont Faen Primary

I. Teideman, Mrs. S. Morris and Dr. S. Acey

Ysgol Dewi Sant

Mrs. D. :Powell and Mrs. J. Giles

Ysgol Gwaun y Nant

R.A. Evans

Ysgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg

Mrs. J. Owen and R.A. Evans

Ysgol Iolo Morgannwg

Councillor T.H. Jarvie

Ysgol St. Curig

Mrs. J. Owen