Agenda Item No.






Minutes of a meeting held on 2nd July, 2012.


Present:  Councillor C.P.J. Elmore (Chairman); Councillors P.J. Clarke, C.P. Franks, T.H. Jarvie and Mrs. M.R. Wilkinson.


Also present: Councillor A.G. Powell



(a)       Apology for Absence -


This was received from Councillor F.T. Johnson.



(b)       Declarations of Interest –


No declarations were received.


(c)        Guidance Regarding Appointments Process –


The Head of Governor Support outlined the procedure for the appointments process following which it was


RECOMMENDED - T H A T the guidance report regarding the appointments process be noted.



(d)       Exclusion of Press and Public -


RESOLVED - T H A T under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part 4 of Schedule 12A (as amended) of the Act, the relevant paragraphs of the Schedule being referred to in brackets after the minute heading.



(e)       Applications for the Appointment of Current Local Authority Governors' Vacancies (Exempt Information - Paragraph 12) -


The Panel, having been informed by the Head of Governor Support that one of the applicants (L. Jones) for Ysgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg and Ysgol Nant Talwg had withdrawn, and having considered the criteria for the appointment of Local Authority Governors and the applications received subsequently


RECOMMENDED to Cabinet - T H A T the following appointments be made for the schools as detailed below:




Federated Governing Body of Ashgrove Special School, Ysgol Erw'r Delyn and Ysgol Maes Dyfan (Federation of Special Schools)

Dr. A. Cosslett, T. Exell and D. Jackson

Federated Governing Body of Ysgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg and Ysgol Nant Talwg (3-19 Federation - Welsh Medium)

G. Evans, R.A. Evans, D. Griffith,

H. Llewellyn-Morgan and Councillor S. Wiliam

Governing Body of Ysgol Sant Baruc (Welsh Medium Primary)

S. Dodd, Councillor N.P. Hodges and S. Hodges.


Reason for recommendation


Following consideration of the applications for the appointment of school governors and it being noted that unsuccessful applicants would be recommended by the Head of Governor Support to be co-opted as community governors by the new governing bodies with the Panel being aware that approval for co-opted members was a decision for each individual governing body.