# AGENDA ITEM NO. 7. NON-EXECUTIVE ARRANGEMENTS – SCRUTINY COMMITTEES: APPOINTMENT, MEMBERSHIP, TERMS OF REFERENCE AND ALLOCATION OF CHAIR POSITIONS

#### SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION

Members are requested to note that "true" entitlement to seats on Scrutiny Committees for each Group in 2023/24 is:

- Labour 26.86 (rounded up to 27)
- Conservative 13.97 (rounded up to 14)
- Plaid Cymru 8.60 (rounded up to 9)
- Llantwit First Independents 4.29 (rounded down to 4)
- Independent: Councillor Campbell 1.06 (rounded down to 1)
- Independent: Councillor Mahoney 1.06 (rounded down to 1)
- Independent: Councillor Morgan 1.06 (rounded down to 1)
- Independent: Councillor Perry 1.06 (rounded down to 1).

The apportionment of seats in 2023/24 will, therefore, be as follows:

- Labour 27
- Conservative 14
- Plaid Cymru 9
- Llantwit First Independents 4
- Councillor Campbell 1
- Councillor Mahoney 1
- Councillor Morgan 1
- Councillor Perry 1.

The current overall political table is attached as Appendix A to the covering report.

As reported to the Annual Meeting last year and following the Local Government Elections, Members will note that each Political Group was required to give a seat up on one of the Council's five Scrutiny Committees so that each Group reached their legal entitlement of seats across all five of the Scrutiny Committees. The Group Leaders at that time indicated which of the Scrutiny Committees they would be giving a seat up on:

- Labour one seat on Homes and Safe Communities
- Conservative one seat on Homes and Safe Communities
- Plaid Cymru one seat on Homes and Safe Communities
- Llantwit First Independents one seat on Environment and Regeneration.

Of the seats given up by each Group, one seat fell to each of the Independent Members, Councillor Campbell, Councillor Mahoney, Councillor Morgan and Councillor Perry.

Having regard to the above, the four Independent Members indicated that they would take up their respective seat (in some instances, following the drawing of lots), on the following Scrutiny Committees:

- Councillor Campbell Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny Committee
- Councillor Mahoney Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny Committee
- Councillor Morgan Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny Committee
- Councillor Perry Environment and Regeneration Scrutiny Committee.

It is recommended to Council that the above allocations be approved.

As indicated in paragraphs 2.1 to 2.3 of the original report contained in the agenda previously circulated, the Leader of the Labour Group and Coalition has indicated that it is her intention to retain their allocation of two Scrutiny Committee Chairs and to be Chaired as follows:

- Corporate Performance and Resources Councillor J. Protheroe
- Environment and Regeneration Councillor S.D. Perkes

The Leader of the Conservative Group has indicated his intention to retain their allocation of two Scrutiny Committee Chairs and to be Chaired as follows:

- Healthy Living and Social Care Councillor J.E. Charles
- Learning and Culture Councillor R.R. Thomas

The Plaid Cymru Group will retain the Chair of the Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny Committee

Councillor A.M. Collins.

Political Groups, and where relevant the individual Member, have indicated their membership of Scrutiny Committees will be as follows:

#### (a) Corporate Performance and Resources Scrutiny – (11 Members) –

Labour: 5: Councillors P. Drake, E. Goodjohn, H.C. Hamilton, B. Loveluck-Edwards and J. Protheroe (Chair)

Conservative: 3: Councillors G.D.D. Carroll, S.J. Haines and N.J. Wood

Plaid Cymru: 2: Councillor C.P. Franks and Dr. I.J. Johnson

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor S.M. Hanks

#### (b) Environment and Regeneration Scrutiny – (11 Members) –

Labour: 5: Councillors P. Drake, C. Iannucci, S. Lloyd-Selby, E. Penn and S.D. Perkes (Chair)

Conservative: 3: Councillors C.E.A. Champion, V.P. Driscoll and A.M. Ernest

Plaid Cymru: 2: Councillors M. Hooper and S.T. Wiliam

Independent: 1: Councillor I.A.N. Perry

#### (c) Healthy Living and Social Care Scrutiny - (12 Members) -

Labour: 6: Councillors G. Ball, I.R. Buckley, E.J. Goodjohn, J. Lynch-Wilson, C. Stallard and N.C. Thomas

Conservative: 3: Councillors C.A. Cave, J.E. Charles (Chair) and R. Fisher

Plaid Cymru: 2: Councillors A.M. Collins and C.M. Cowpe

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor J.M. Norman

#### (d) Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny - (12 Members) -

Labour: 5: Councillors J. Aviet, G. Ball, S. Lloyd-Selby, B. Loveluck-Edwards and S.D. Perkes

Conservative: 2: Councillors G.D.D. Carroll and W.A. Hennessy

Plaid Cymru: 1: Councillor A.M. Collins (Chair)

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor S.M. Hanks

Independent: 1: Councillor S. Campbell

Independent: 1: Councillor M.J.G. Morgan

Independent: 1: VACANT\*

\* There will be one vacancy on this Committee (Councillor Mahoney has confirmed that he does not wish to take up a seat on a Scrutiny Committee, accordingly there will be one vacancy on the Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny Committee as there is no entitlement to another Group or Independent Councillor as they have received their entitlements)

1 representative, in a co-opted non-voting observer capacity, of the following organisation:

Citizens Advice Cardiff and Vale

plus 4 Representatives from Tenant Working Group / Panel.

## (e) Learning and Culture Scrutiny - (12 Members) -

Labour: 6: Councillors W. Gilligan, E.J. Goodjohn, J. Lynch-Wilson, N.B. Marshallsea, H.M. Payne and E. Penn

Conservative: 3: Councillors R.E. Godfrey, W.A. Hennessy and R.R. Thomas (Chair)

Plaid Cymru: 2: Councillors A. Asbrey and N.P. Hodges

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor J.M. Norman

## Also invited to attend as co-opted members:

Church in Wales
Roman Catholic Church
Parent Governor – Primary Sector
Parent Governor – Secondary Sector

### Also invited to attend as non-voting observers:

Vale Youth Forum – 2 representatives
Vale Youth Council – 2 representatives
Welsh Medium Education
Secondary
Primary
Special
Headteachers
Free Churches