THE VALE OF GLAMORGAN COUNCIL

Decision Notice – Special Remote Meeting at 7.05 p.m., 20th November, 2023.

The Council agenda is available here.

The Meeting recording is available here.

<u>Present</u>: Councillor Julie Aviet (Mayor); Councillors Anne Asbrey, Gareth Ball, Rhiannon Birch, Bronwen Brooks, Gillian Bruce, Ian Buckley, Lis Burnett, Samantha Campbell, George Carroll, Charles Champion, Janice Charles, Millie Collins, Marianne Cowpe, Pamela Drake, Vincent Driscoll, Anthony Ernest, Christopher Franks, Wendy Gilligan, Emma Goodjohn, Ewan Goodjohn, Stephen Haines, Sally Hanks, Howard Hamilton, William Hennessy, Nic Hodges, Mark Hooper, Catherine Iannucci, Gwyn John, Dr. Ian Johnson, Susan Lloyd-Selby, Belinda Loveluck-Edwards, Julie Lynch-Wilson, Kevin Mahoney, Michael Morgan, Jayne Norman, Helen Payne, Elliot Penn, Sandra Perkes, Ian Perry, Joanna Protheroe, Ruba Sivagnanam, Carys Stallard, Neil Thomas, Rhys Thomas, Margaret Wilkinson, Edward Williams, Mark Wilson and Nicholas Wood.

AGENDA ITEM 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE –

These were received from Councillors Christine Cave, Robert Fisher, Russell Godfrey, Naomi Marshallsea and Steffan Wiliam.

AGENDA ITEM 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST –

No declarations of interest were received.

AGENDA ITEM 3. AMENDMENTS TO THE COUNCIL'S CONSTITUTION (MO / HLDS) –

A Recorded Vote took place on Councillor Dr. I.J. Johnson's amendment, seconded by Councillor Cowpe, to establish a cross-party Working Group to consider Section 4 of the Council's Constitution to consider the ways forward and in the interim no changes be made.

Members	For	Against	Abstain
Anne Asbrey	\checkmark		
Julie Aviet			
Gareth Ball		\checkmark	

Rhiannon Birch		\checkmark	
Bronwen Brooks		\checkmark	
Gillian Bruce	\checkmark		
lan Buckley		\checkmark	
Lis Burnett		\checkmark	
Samantha Campbell	\checkmark		
George Carroll	\checkmark		
Charles Champion	\checkmark		
Janice Charles	\checkmark		
Millie Collins	\checkmark		
Marianne Cowpe	\checkmark		
Pamela Drake			
Vincent Driscoll	\checkmark		
Anthony Ernest	\checkmark		
Christopher Franks	\checkmark		
Wendy Gilligan			
Emma Goodjohn			
Ewan Goodjohn			\checkmark
Stephen Haines	\checkmark		
Howard Hamilton			
Sally Hanks			
William Hennessy	\checkmark		
Nic Hodges			
Mark Hooper			
Catherine Iannucci		\checkmark	

Gwyn John		\checkmark	
Dr. Ian Johnson	\checkmark		
Susan Lloyd-Selby		\checkmark	
Belinda Loveluck-Edwards		\checkmark	
Julie Lynch-Wilson		\checkmark	
Kevin Mahoney	\checkmark		
Michael Morgan		\checkmark	
Jayne Norman		\checkmark	
Helen Payne		\checkmark	
Elliot Penn		\checkmark	
Sandra Perkes		\checkmark	
lan Perry	\checkmark		
Joanna Protheroe		\checkmark	
Ruba Sivagnanam		\checkmark	
Carys Stallard		\checkmark	
Neil Thomas		\checkmark	
Rhys Thomas	\checkmark		
Margaret Wilkinson		\checkmark	
Eddie Williams		\checkmark	
Mark Wilson		\checkmark	
Nicholas Wood	\checkmark		
TOTAL	21	27	1

The Amendment was lost.

Councillor Burnett (Leader of the Council) moved the report's recommendations which were seconded by Councillor Brooks.

A Recorded Vote took place on the report recommendations.

Members	For	Against	Abstain
Anne Asbrey			
Julie Aviet	\checkmark		
Gareth Ball	\checkmark		
Rhiannon Birch	\checkmark		
Bronwen Brooks			
Gillian Bruce		\checkmark	
lan Buckley	\checkmark		
Lis Burnett	\checkmark		
Samantha Campbell		\checkmark	
George Carroll		\checkmark	
Charles Champion		\checkmark	
Janice Charles		\checkmark	
Millie Collins		\checkmark	
Marianne Cowpe		\checkmark	
Pamela Drake	\checkmark		
Vincent Driscoll		\checkmark	
Anthony Ernest		\checkmark	
Christopher Franks		\checkmark	
Wendy Gilligan	V		
Emma Goodjohn	\checkmark		
Ewan Goodjohn			
Stephen Haines			
Howard Hamilton	\checkmark		

Sally Hanks			
William Hennessy			
Nic Hodges			
Mark Hooper			
Catherine Iannucci			
Gwyn John	\checkmark		
Dr. Ian Johnson		\checkmark	
Susan Lloyd-Selby	\checkmark		
Belinda Loveluck-Edwards	\checkmark		
Julie Lynch-Wilson	\checkmark		
Kevin Mahoney		\checkmark	
Michael Morgan	\checkmark		
Jayne Norman	\checkmark		
Helen Payne	\checkmark		
Elliot Penn	\checkmark		
Sandra Perkes			
lan Perry		\checkmark	
Joanna Protheroe	\checkmark		
Ruba Sivagnanam	\checkmark		
Carys Stallard	\checkmark		
Neil Thomas	\checkmark		
Rhys Thomas			
Margaret Wilkinson	\checkmark		
Eddie Williams	\checkmark		
Mark Wilson			

Nicholas Wood			
TOTAL	29	20	

RESOLVED –

(1) T H A T the changes to the relevant officer delegations as set out in paragraphs 2.2 and 2.3 of the report be approved and that Section 26 of the Constitution be amended accordingly.

(2) T H A T the proposed amendments to Section 4 of the Council's Constitution as set out in Appendices A to C of the report be approved and that the Council's Constitution be amended accordingly.

Reason for decisions

(1&2) Having regard to the contents of the report and discussions at the meeting.