The BIG Fill

BIG Fill is back and the team will be working on Fridays and Saturdays to repair potholes in the Vale.

Big Fill campaign branding

They will be targeting a different area each time, but we need your help to identify and locate potholes in those areas. Remember, if you see a pothole marked in white, there’s no need to report it – we’re already on the case! 

 

Report a Pothole

 

 

BIG Fill Schedule 

If you have spotted a pothole in one of the following areas, please report it to us by the deadline to ensure it is scheduled in for repair during the BIG Fill's visit.

 

Llandough

  • Friday 10 May and Saturday 11 May 2019

Report by: Friday 26 April

Cornerswell

  • Friday 24 May and Saturday 25 May 2019

Report by: Friday 10 May

St Augustines

  • Friday 07 June and Saturday 08 June 2019

Report by: Friday 24 May

Stanwell

  • Friday 21 June and Saturday 22nd June 2019

Report by: Friday 07 June

 

Plymouth 

  • Friday 05 and Saturday 06 July

Report by: Friday 21 June 2019

 

Dinas Powys 

  • Friday 19 and Saturday 20 July

Report by: Friday 05 July 2019

 

St Athan

  • Friday 02 and Saturday 03 August

Report by: Friday 26 July 2019

 

  • Why do we get potholes? 
    A pothole is a point on the road where the asphalt has eroded and where a depression forms. As they age, road surfaces get increasingly porous and absorb more rainwater. Frost also affects road surfaces, as the water seeps down, freezes and expands, gradually weakening the surface, causing bits of the road to loosen. Vehicles driving over the pothole will also make the dip grow over time.
  • What happens if there are lots of potholes in one road? 
    It is likely that the road (or a section of it) will be earmarked for resurfacing at a later date. Remember even if we have filled a pothole, feasibly days later another new pothole can form nearby, sometimes people think we have not fixed potholes reported, when we have. 
  • I reported a pothole, but it has not been filled - what is going on? 
    We respond to each report as soon as we can. The supervisor on site and our inspectors will prioritise works identified for each weekend. If crews are inundated over a weekend, we will add any remaining potholes to our weekly schedule. 
  • Do you follow industry standards? 

    Yes. All our resurfacing work is carried out to the standard identified by the highway specifications and contract conditions. We follow a strict code of practice for highways maintenance management.