Scrutiny Committee Membership 2018/19




Corporate Performance and Resources Scrutiny Committee (10 members)

Chairman:  Councillor George Carroll;

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Vincent Driscoll;

Councillors: Robert Crowley, Owen Griffiths, Stephen Griffiths, Ian Johnson, Peter King, Neil Moore, Leighton Rowlands and Eddie Williams


Environment and Regeneration Scrutiny Committee (10 members)

Chairman: Councillor Vincent Bailey;

Vice-Chairman: VACANT

Councillors: Pamela Drake, Vince Driscoll, Stewart Edwards, Gwyn John, Neil Moore, Andrew Robertson, Ruba Sivagnanam and Steffan Wiliam (plus one vacancy)

Healthy Living and Social Care Scrutiny Committee (10 members)

Chairman: Councillor Kathryn McCaffer

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Rachel Nugent-Finn

Councillors: Julie Aviet, Bronwen Brooks, George Carroll, Christine Cave, Stewart Edwards, Kevin Mahoney, Leighton Rowlands and Neil Thomas

Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny Committee (10 members)

Chairman: Councillor Christine Cave

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Stephen Griffiths

Councillors: Bronwen Brooks, Millie Collins, Ben Gray, Sally Hanks, Michael Morgan, Margaret Wilkinson, Mark Wilson and Marguerita Wright


One representative, as a non-voting observer, from each of the following organisations:


Citizens Advice Bureau



plus four representatives from Tenant Working Group/Panel.

Learning and Culture Scrutiny Committee (10 members)

Chairman: Councillor Lis Burnett;

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Nic Hodges;

Councillors: Rhiannon Birch, Ben Gray, Stephen Griffiths, Michael Morgan, Jayne Norman, Rachel Nugent-Finn and Sandra Perkes (plus one vacancy)


Also invited to attend as co-opted members:

   Roman Catholic Church

   Church in Wales

   Parent Governor - Secondary Sector

   Parent Governor - Primary Sector


Also invited to attend as non-voting observers:


   Welsh medium education


   Vale Youth Forum

   Vale Youth Forum



   Free Churches