Town and Community Councils

Town Mayors, Chairmen and Clerks to Town and Community Councils 2018/19


There are four Town Councils and 22 Community Councils

  • Barry Town Council
  • Cowbridge with Llanblethian Town Council
  • Llantwit Major Town Council
  • Penarth Town Council


Charter between the Vale of Glamorgan Council and Town and Community Councils


In February 2008 the Vale of Glamorgan Council, together with 21 of the 26 Town and Community Councils within the Vale, established a Charter. It sets out the aims for working together, to build on existing good practice, to embrace the principles of openness, honesty, respect for each other’s opinions and the common priorities of putting citizens at the centre. 


A working group of Town and Community Council Clerks and Council officers was also set up to draw up an Action Plan.  This was to develop the principles within the Charter which was endorsed by the Councils Community Liaison Committee on and approved by its Cabinet on .


The Council’s Community Liaison Committee, consisting of representatives from Town and Community Councils and Members of the Council is to be the vehicle to ensure that effective monitoring of the Action Plan takes place and to monitor its progress.


It is intended that the Charter is fully reviewed every four years following local elections or more often if there is considered a need to do so. 


On 9th September, 2013 the Charter was revised and subsequently agreed by Cabinet [Revised Charter].


Request for Consideration of Matter by Community Liaison Committee


A representative from each of the Town and Community Councils sits on the Community Liaison Committee that meets approximately three times a year.  Town and Community Councils are able to request that a matter be considered at the Community Liaison Committee by completing a Request for Consideration proforma and returning it to Democratic Services. 


Please note that requests MUST be made by Members of the Town or Community Council VIA their Clerk only, not directly by members of the public.  If a member of the public wishes a matter to be considered, it must be processed via their Community Council Clerk.

Guidance on Clustering


As requested by Town and Community Councils (TCCs), this guidance note has been put together by the Vale of Glamorgan Council (VoG Council) to provide TCCs with information on clustering to support their decision-making processes.


[Guidance on Clustering]



A to Z Search

Find your local town or community council by using our simple A to Z search:


Town Mayors, Chairmen and clerks
CouncilTown Mayors, Chairmen and Clerks
Barry Town Council

Mayor: Councillor Mrs. J. Charles

365 Barry Road, Barry, CF62 8HG

Town Clerk: Ms. E. Forbes

Council Offices, 7 Gladstone Road, Barry, CF62 8NA

  • 01446 738663

Chairman: Councillor P. Graham-Woollard

Yew Tree Farm House, Colwinston, CF71 7ND 

Temporary Clerk: Councillor Mrs. C. Roach

2 St. Michaels Close, Colwinston, CF71 7BF

Cowbridge with Llanblethian Town Council

Mayor: Councillor T.L. Williams

30 St. Johns Close, Llanblethian, Cowbridge, CF71 7HN 


Town Clerk: Ms. Ceri Anderson

Town Hall, Cowbridge, CF71 7AD

Dinas Powys

Chairman: Councillor S. Thomas

13 Croffta, Southra Park, Dinas Powys, CF64 4UN

Clerk: Mrs. B. Smreczak

Council Office, Parish Hall, Britway Road, Dinas Powys, CF64 4AF




Chairman: Councillor H. Baker

The Hill, Tair Cross, Ewenny, CF35 5AG

Clerk: Mrs. C. Flower

14 Vale Park, Broadlands, Bridgend, CF31 5EA


Chairman: Councillor M. Hughes

Brookside, Llancarfan, CF62 3AD

Clerk: Mrs. K. Barry

Corner House, Llancarfan, CF62 3AD



Chairman: Councillor Mrs. P. Carreyett

16 Penlan Rise, Llandough, CF64 2LS

  • Home: 029 20712400

Clerk: Mr. P.R. Egan BA, Chartered MCIPD, MILCM, F.Inst LM, FIPSM

63 Woodham Park, Barry, CF62 8FJ



Chairman: Councillor C. Cornelius

Brook Lodge, Sigingstone, Cowbridge, CF71 7LP


Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer: Mr. D.L. Jones

47 Cefn Road, Cefn Cribwr, Bridgend, CF32 0BA

  • Mobile: 07747 151205

Chairman: Councillor J.H. Teague

Heddfan, St. Mary Church, Cowbridge, CF71 7LT


Clerk: Mrs. J. Griffin

41 The Verlands, Cowbridge, CF71 7BY


Chairman: Councillor K. Jones

Ruthyn Fach, St. Mary Hill, Bridgend, CF35 5EB

  • Home: 01656 860552
  • none

Clerk: Mr. K. Protheroe

1 White House, Barry, CF62 6FB


Chairman: Councillor T. Fowler

Ty Felin Fawr, Llanmaes, CF61 2XR

Clerk: Ms. C. Alexander

Apart 2 Alexandra House, Beach Road, Penarth, CF64 1FN

Llantwit Major Town Council

Mayor: Councillor Dr. P.D. Ellis

Willastones, 13 Heol Penre'r Felin, Llantwit Major, CF61 2XS 

Town Clerk: Ms. R. Quinn

Town Hall, Llantwit Major, CF61 1SD

Michaelstonle Pit and Leckwith

Chairman: Councillor D. Jones

1 The Courtyard, Michaelston le Pit, CF64 4HE


Clerk: Mrs. J. Haigh

1 Stacey Road, Dinas Powys, CF64 4AE 

Penarth Town Council

Mayor: Councillor J. Luxton

2 Windsor Terrace, Penarth, CF64 1AA

Clerk: Miss. E. Boylan

Penarth Town Council, West House, Stanwell Road, Penarth, CF64 2YG


Chairman: Councillor A. Chiplen

4 Heol St. Cattwg, Pendoylan, CF71 7UG

Clerk: Mrs. J. Roberts

44, Heol St. Cattwg, Pendoylan, Cowbridge, CF71 7UG



Chairman: Councillor M. Smith

Hunters Gate, 2 Ash Park, Ystradowen, CF71 7SR


Clerk: Mr. A. Williams

13 Wye Close, Barry, CF62 7TF


Chairman: Councillor I. Pearson

Sabel House, 24 Pwll y Min Crescent, Peterston Super Ely, CF5 6LR

Clerk: Ms. T. Trundle

29 Blackbird Road, St. Athan, CF62 4NL

St Athan

Chairman: Councillor B. Acott

8 St. Michaels Close, St Athan, CF62 4QB

Clerk: Mr. J. Haswell

8 Tathan Crescent, St Athan, CF62 4PE

  • Home: 01446 750050 

St. Brides Major

Chairman: Councillor G. Stephens

57 Lon yr Eglwys, St. Brides Major, CF32 0SH


  • 01656 880067
  • no email

Clerk: Mrs. D. Brunsdon

31 Ty Gwyn Drive, Brackla, Bridgend, CF31 2QF

St. Donats

Chairman: Councillor Mrs. C. Cowie

The Retreat, St. Donats, CF61 1ZB 

  • n/a
  • n/a

Clerk: Mrs. D. Brunsdon

31 Ty Gwyn Drive, Brackla, Bridgend, CF31 2QF 

St. Georges and St. Brides-Super-Ely

Chairman: Councillor A. Davies

Trecefn, Peterston Super Ely, CF5 6EY

Clerk:  Ms. N. Dunseath

9A Welington Street, Tongwynlais, Cardiff, CF15 7LP

St. Nicholas and Bonvilston

Chairman: Councillor F. Spriggs

Sarn Bach Bungalow, St. Nicholas, CF5 6SG

Clerk: Mrs. N. McGarrigle

2 Maes Illtuds, Pentre'r Cwrt, Llantwit Major, CF61 2SD

Sully and Lavernock

Chairman: Councillor S. Oaten

66 Conybeare Road, Sully, CF64 5US

Acting Clerk: Ms. K. Rogers

9 Somerset View, Sully, CF64 5SZ

Welsh St. Donats

Chairman: Councillor A. Foyle

Virginia Cottage, Maendy, CF717TH

  • Home: 01446 774362

Clerk: Mrs. V. Pearce

Maendy House, Maendy, Cowbridge, CF71 7TG


Chairman: Councillor C. Thomas

19 Orchard Close, Wenvoe, CF5 6BW


Clerk: Mr. A. Williams

c/o Community Centre, Old Port Road, Wenvoe, CF5 6AL


Chairman: Councillor D. Ambrose

20 Ewenny Road, Wick, CF71 7QA


Clerk: Councillor. C. Hawkins

18 Ewenny Road, Wick, Cowbridge, CF71 7QA