Cost of Living Support Icon


Voters reminded of changes to electoral geography ahead of July 4

Residents across South Wales are being reminded of recent parliamentary constituency changes that may affect the area in which they cast their vote on July 4.


  • Friday, 28 June 2024

    Vale of Glamorgan

Inflatable X at Barry IslandA number of changes have taken place to constituency boundaries across the UK ahead of the General Election next month, with the number of constituencies in Wales reducing from 40 to 32.


The changes follow a review of parliamentary boundaries last year to ensure that constituencies are all roughly a similar size. Constituency areas have been altered to reflect rising and falling populations and changes in the boundaries of the electoral wards that comprise them.


The Returning Officers in the local authority areas of Bridgend, Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf and the Vale of Glamorgan are advising voters to familiarise themselves with the changes which included new names for some constituencies, enlarged boundaries for some areas and reduced area for others.


The changes do not apply to the boundaries of seats in the Senedd.

A spokesperson for the Returning Officers said: “It’s really important that residents in areas affected by the boundary review know in which constituency or ‘seat’ they will be voting. Voters living in an area that has moved to a different constituency may notice that their poll card or postal vote looks a bit different to the ones they’ve previously had, because it has been issued by a different Council that is running the election in this new constituency.


“We don’t want this to cause any confusion for our residents. People living in the areas where these changes have happened will continue to be residents of their existing local authority area and it is their local council that will continue to manage the process of registering their votes for all future elections.”


In the Vale of Glamorgan:

Dinas Powys moves from the Vale of Glamorgan to Cardiff South & Penarth


Local polling station check:


Penarth, Llandough, Michaelson Le Pit, Sully and Lavernock are already part of the Cardiff South and Penarth constituency boundary.


Local authority wards not mentioned in the breakdown above are not affected by the changes. To view maps of the former and new constituency areas, visit: