Senedd Cymru Elections

On 6 May 2020 the National Assembly for Wales became the Welsh Parliament or Senedd Cymru, commonly known as the Senedd. 


From this date onwards Assembly Members will now be known as Members of the Senedd (MS). Senedd Cymru or Welsh Parliament is the democratically elected body that represents the interests of Wales and it's people, makes laws for Wales, and holds the Welsh Government to account.

National Assembly for Wales

 The next Senedd Cymru Election will be:
Thursday 06 May 2021.


This type of election is held every five years the next election is in 2021.

On the 5th of May 2016, the Welsh People voted on who they would like to represent them as their assembly members, when the Senedd held their last election.


Senedd Cymru

The Senedd is made up of 60 Members of the Senedd. 40 Members of the Senedd represent the constituencies of Wales (your local area) and 20 Members of the Senedd represent the five regions:  North Wales, Mid and West Wales, South Wales West, South Wales East and South Wales Central.


Members of the Senedd 

Members of the Senedd (MS) represent public interest as well as individuals living within the constituency or region in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.


They have regular contact with the public through meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Members of the Senedd are paid a salary for their work.


Vale MS & MPs


More Information

Following a referendum on the Senedd legislative powers held on the 3rd of March 2011, the people of Wales voted in favour of granting the Senedd further powers for making laws in Wales.
The Senedd has the power to make laws on the following areas:

  • Agriculture, fisheries, forestry and rural development

  • Ancient monuments and historic buildings

  • Culture

  • Economic development

  • Education and training

  • Environment

  • Fire and rescue services and promotion of fire safety

  • Food

  • Health and health services

  • Highways and transport

  • Housing

  • Local government

  • Senedd Cymru - Welsh Parliament

  • Public administration

  • Social welfare

  • Sport and recreation

  • Tourism

  • Town and country planning

  • Water and flood defence

  • Welsh language


The UK Government retains control of certain public services and areas of legislation.  For example, responsibilities for the police service, social security and employment legislation are not devolved.

Senedd Cymru has no powers to levy taxes.

The Senedd was opened in 2006, and is where Members of the Senedd gather for Plenary (discussion/debate) in Cardiff Bay.

The Senedd estate also includes the Pierhead, an historical building in Cardiff Bay.  As well as these two buildings, the Senedd also has a visitor information centre in Colwyn Bay and an outreach bus that regularly visits the different regions of Wales.




  How to Contact Us