Town and Community Councils

Town Mayors, Chairmen and Clerks to Town and Community Councils 2020/21


There are four Town Councils and 22 Community Councils

  • Barry Town Council
  • Cowbridge with Llanblethian Town Council
  • Llantwit Major Town Council
  • Penarth Town Council


Charter between the Vale of Glamorgan Council and Town and Community Councils

In February 2008 the Vale of Glamorgan Council, together with 21 of the 26 Town and Community Councils within the Vale, established a Charter. It sets out the aims for working together, to build on existing good practice, to embrace the principles of openness, honesty, respect for each other’s opinions and the common priorities of putting citizens at the centre. 


A working group of Town and Community Council Clerks and Council officers was also set up to draw up an Action Plan.  This was to develop the principles within the Charter which was endorsed by the Councils Community Liaison Committee on and approved by its Cabinet on .


The Council’s Community Liaison Committee, consisting of representatives from Town and Community Councils and Members of the Council is to be the vehicle to ensure that effective monitoring of the Action Plan takes place and to monitor its progress.


It is intended that the Charter is fully reviewed every four years following local elections or more often if there is considered a need to do so. 


On 9th September, 2013 the Charter was revised and subsequently agreed by Cabinet Revised Charter.


Request for Consideration of Matter by Community Liaison Committee

A representative from each of the Town and Community Councils sits on the Community Liaison Committee that meets approximately three times a year.  Town and Community Councils are able to request that a matter be considered at the Community Liaison Committee by completing a Request for Consideration proforma and returning it to Democratic Services (e-mail: 


Please note that requests MUST be made by Members of the Town or Community Council VIA their Clerk only, not directly by members of the public.  If a member of the public wishes a matter to be considered, it must be processed via their Community Council Clerk.

Guidance on Clustering

As requested by Town and Community Councils (TCCs), this guidance note has been put together by the Vale of Glamorgan Council (VoG Council) to provide TCCs with information on clustering to support their decision-making processes.



A to Z Search

Find your local town or community council by using our simple A to Z search:


Town Mayors, Chairmen and clerks
CouncilTown Mayors, Chairmen and Clerks
Barry Town Council

Mayor: Councillor S. Wiliam

c/o Barry Town Council, Town Hall, King Square, Holton Road, Barry, CF63 4RW

  • 01446 738663

Town Clerk: Ms. E. Forbes

Council Offices, Town Hall, King Square, Holton Road, Barry, CF63 4RW


Chair: Councillor E. Lewis

Michaelmas Cottage, Colwinston, CF71 7NB 

  • 01656 658707

Clerk: Mr. K. Protheroe

1 White House, Barry, CF62 6FB

Cowbridge with Llanblethian Town Council

Mayor: Councillor Mrs. S. Vaughan

c/o Town Hall, Cowbridge, CF71 7AD 

Town Clerk: Ms. C. Kennedy B.A.

Town Hall, Cowbridge, CF71 7AD

Dinas Powys

Chair: Councillor R. Crowley

63 Highwalls Avenue, Dinas Powys, CF64 4AQ

Clerk: Mrs. B. Smreczak

Council Office, Parish Hall, Britway Road, Dinas Powys, CF64 4AF




Chair: Councillor Ms. J. Pegg

Y Bwthyn, Corntown Road, Conrtown, CF35 5BG

Clerk: Mrs. C. Flower

20 Ffordd Candleston, Broadlands, Bridgend, CF35 5DU


Chair: Councillor Mrs. K. Kemp

Flaxland Fach, Walterston, CF62 3AS

Clerk: Mrs. J. Western

9 Somerset Road, Barry, CF62 8BL


Chair: Councillor E. Penn

23 Dochdwy Road, Llandough, CF64 2PD

Clerk: Mr. P.R. Egan BA, Chartered MCIPD, MILCM, F.Inst LM, FIPSM

63 Woodham Park, Barry, CF62 8FJ



Chair: Councillor Mrs. C. Bray

Well Cottage, Church Street, Llysworney, CF71 7NQ

Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer:

Mr. D.L. Jones

47 Cefn Road, Cefn Cribwr, Bridgend, CF32 0BA

  • Mobile: 07747 151205

Chair: Councillor Ms. S. Bonnar

Stone Cottage, 1 Talbot Terrace, St. Mary Church, CF71 7LW

Clerk: Mrs. J. Griffin

41 The Verlands, Cowbridge, CF71 7BY


Chair: Councillor K. Jones

Ruthyn Fach, St. Mary Hill, Bridgend, CF35 5EB

  • Home: 01656 860552
  • none

Clerk: Mr. K. Protheroe

1 White House, Barry, CF62 6FB


Chair: Councillor T. Fowler

Ty Felin Fawr, Llanmaes, CF61 2XR

Clerk: Ms. C. Alexander

Apart 2 Alexandra House, Beach Road, Penarth, CF64 1FN

Llantwit Major Town Council

Mayor: Councillor D. Powell

Purlon Farm, Wick Road, Llantwit Major, CF61 1YU

Town Clerk: Ms. R. Quinn

Town Hall, Llantwit Major, CF61 1SD

Michaelston le Pit and Leckwith

Chair: Councillor D. Jones

1 The Courtyard, Michaelston le Pit, CF64 4HE

Clerk: Mrs. J. Haigh

c/o Parish Hall Office, 2 Britway Road, Dinas Powys, CF64 4AF

Penarth Town Council

Mayor: Councillor I. Buckley

15 Maesfield Road, Penarth, CF64 2SD

Town Clerk: Miss. E. Boylan

Penarth Town Council, West House, Stanwell Road, Penarth, CF64 2YG


Chair: Councillor R. Rees

The Bryn, Pendoylan, CF71 7UJ

Clerk: Mrs. J. Roberts

44, Heol St. Cattwg, Pendoylan, Cowbridge, CF71 7UG



Chair: Councillor D. Fardo

Trelawns, Penllyn, Cowbridge, CF71 7RQ 

Clerk: Mr. A. Williams

13 Wye Close, Barry, CF62 7TF


Chair: Councillor D. Moody-Jones

8 Main Avenue, Peterston Super Ely, CF5 6LQ

Clerk: Ms. T. Trundle

10 Manor Park, Llantwit Major, CF61 1RS

St Athan

Chair: Councillor R. Eustace

Court House, Flemingston, CF62 4QJ

Clerk: Mr. D. Patterson

60 Celtic Way, Rhoose, CF62 3FT

  • Home: 01446 311424
St. Brides Major

Chair: Awaiting Information


  • ..
  • ..

Clerk: Mrs. D. Brunsdon

31 Ty Gwyn Drive, Brackla, Bridgend, CF31 2QF

St. Donats

Chair: Councillor G. Halliwell

Llan Farm, Llan Road, Marcross, CF61 1ZG

Clerk: Mrs. J. Griffin

 41 The Verlands, Cowbridge, CF71 7BY

St. Georges and St. Brides-Super-Ely

Chair: Councillor W. Howells

2 Porth Cottages, St. Brides Super Ely, CF5 6HE

Clerk:  Ms. N. Dunseath

9A Welington Street, Tongwynlais, Cardiff, CF15 7LP

St. Nicholas with Bonvilston

Chair: Councillor I. Perry


  • Telephone Number
  • Email Address

Clerk: Vacant


  • ..
  • ..
Sully and Lavernock

Chair: Councillor L. Scaglioni

12 Smithies Avenue, Sully, CF64 5SS

Clerk: Mr. S. Oaten

c/o Jubilee Hall, Smithies Avenue, Sully, CF64 5SS

Welsh St. Donats

Chair: Councillor E. Hall

Ty Talyfa, Welsh St. Donats, CF71 7SS

Clerk: Mrs. V. Pearce

Maendy House, Maendy, Cowbridge, CF71 7TG


Chair: Councillor Ms. R. Sexton

Rock House, Chapel Terrace, Twyn-yr-Odyn, Wenvoe, CF5 6BG

Clerk: Ms. C. Harlow

c/o Community Centre, Old Port Road, Wenvoe, CF5 6AL


Chair: Councillor D. Ambrose

20 Ewenny Road Wick, CF71 7QA 

Clerk: Councillor. C. Hawkins

18 Ewenny Road, Wick, Cowbridge, CF71 7QA