School Term Dates

School term and inset days for schools across the Vale of Glamorgan

 

2019/20 Term Dates

Monday 02 September 2019 and *Monday 20 July 2020 will be designated INSET days for all LEA Maintained Schools.

 

All schools will be closed on Friday 08 May 2020 for the May Day Bank Holiday. Please note this day has been moved from the original Monday 04 May to coincide with the 75th anniversary of VE Day.

 

The remaining three INSET days to be taken, will be at the discretion of each individual school. *It is intended that this INSET day will either be taken on Monday 20 July 2020 or at an alternative time to be decided by individual schools following appropriate consultation with staff for example in the form of twilight sessions.

 

Significant dates:  

Christmas: Wednesday 25 December 2019

Good Friday: 10 April 2020

Easter Monday: 13 April 2020

May Bank Holidays: Monday 4 May 2020 and Monday 25 May 2020

 

  • Autumn 2019

    Start:

    Monday 02 September 2019

     

    Half Term:

    Monday 28 October 2019 - Friday 01 November 2019

     

    End: 

    Friday 20 December 2019

     

    No. of School Days:

    75

  • Spring 2020

    Start: 

    Monday 06 January 2020

     

    Half Term: 

    Monday 17 February 2020 - Friday 21 February 2020

     

    End:

    Friday 03 April 2020

     

    No. of School Days: 

    60

  • Summer 2020

    Start:

    Monday 20 April 2020

     

    Half Term:

    Monday 25 May 2020 - Friday 29 May 2020

     

    End:

    *Monday 20 July 2020

     

    No. of School Days:

     60 

 

Please note: These dates are now confirmed. 

2020/2021 Term Dates

Tuesday 01 September 2020, *Monday 19 and Tuesday 20 July 2021 will be designated INSET days for all LEA Maintained Schools.

 

The remaining two INSET days to be taken will be at the discretion of each individual school.

 

*It is intended that these INSET days will either be taken on Mon 19 and Tue 20 July 2021 or at alternative times to be decided by individual schools following appropriate consultation with staff i.e. for example in the form of twilight sessions.

 

All schools will be closed on Monday 03 May 2021 for the May Day Bank Holiday.

 

Significant dates:    

Christmas: Friday 25 December 2020

Good Friday: 02 April 2021

Easter Monday: 05 April 2021

May Bank Holidays: Monday 03 May 2021 and Monday 31 May 2021

 

 

  • Autumn 2020

    Start:

    Tuesday 01 September 2020

     

    Half Term:

    Monday 26 October -  Friday 30 October 2020

    End:

    Friday 18 December 2020

     

    No. of School Days:

    75

  • Spring 2021

    Start: 

    Monday 4 January 2021

     

    Half Term: 

    Monday 15 February 2021 - Friday 19 February 2021

    End:

    Friday 26 March 2021

    No. of School Days: 

    55

  • Summer 2021

    Start:

    Monday 12 April 2021

     

    Half Term:

    Monday 31 May 2021 - Friday 04 June 2021

     

    End:

    *Tuesday 20 July 2021

     

    No. of School Days:

    66

 

 

Please note: These dates are now confirmed.